On greed

I know it’s not just me. I know there are a lot of people who experienced this, is experiencing this, or will experience this. (You better continue reading this if you want to avoid the unpleasant experience.)

When I work purely for money, (or if not purely but the main aim is money), my crafts don’t turn out so good.

And if there’s more money involved, I end up just thinking “I’ll get this money if I finish doing this blah blah”. Then if I receive a little money in the beginning (which was enough for me then), I’ll be thinking “I think I deserve to get more money. I should I ask for a raise.

Greed. That’s greed.

It works like this. You receive money enough for your needs, then you’ll want more, more, more, and more. So fellow men, don’t believe that the answer to corruption is raising the salaries of our government employees. They’ve got enough salaries. If you raise that, their greed for money will just increase.

Forget that money makes the world go round. That’s utterly a misconception. Bill Gates? Steve Jobs? Mark Zuckerberg? Of course they’re rich. But they didn’t start their careers with the goal  “To have billions of money.”  What they did was simply use their talents, their passions. Money came after that.

It’s far better to work because you love doing what you need to do. It’s far better to work if you’re driven by passion, not by money.

Money won’t get you anywhere. Money will eat you. Greed will eat you. You’ll be nothing but a slave of money.

Those Bonuses Having never even remotely received the gigantic bonuses that bankers, CEO’s and the like often receive, I’ve often wondered why someone would pay, say, a 20 million dollar bonus. Would the person not do just as well for 10 million? Well, in a new book, The Upside of Irrationality,  the Duke Professor of Psychology and Behav … Read More

via Off the blocks

One comment on “On greed

  1. Sharon Moh says:

    I totally agree with this. I was listening to some podcast the other day, where the guy was saying how it annoys him that young people these days graduate and all they think about is money money money. When really at that stage of their career they should be more concerned about learning, because when you improve your value and employers want what they see, then the money will start coming in.

Hello, humanoid.

